Food is back on the menu at the annual NZACA/EBOS Healthcare Excellence in Care Awards, which are now open.

New Zealand Aged Care Association (NZACA) chief executive Simon Wallace says the food award category has made a reappearance on the awards category list thanks to renewed interest from the sector.

“I’m really pleased the Food Awards are back because the quality, choices and presentation of food in our sector has improved out of sight in recent years and as a sector we should be showcasing these success stories.”

In 2014, Ranfurly Village Hospital’s entry into the food award category took out both the category award and the overall supreme award. Ranfurly’s entry focused on offering its residents the chance to choose their meals through tablet technology and delivering restaurant-quality, cost-effective food.

Innovation features in other award categories too, however – aged residential care providers can choose from a range of categories to enter, including:

Bidfood Excellence in Food Award for Care Homes and Hospitals

Invacare Small Operator Industry Award

Medi-Map Community Connections Award

Arjo Training and Staff Development Award

QPS Benchmarking Innovative Delivery Award

Jackson Van Interiors Built and Grown Environment Award

There are also two categories for individuals:

Leecare Solutions Stand-out Individual Award

VCare Legendary Service to the Aged Residential Care Sector Award

The awards, which have been around since 2007, are open to all financial members of the NZACA. Judging is carried out by independent panels, and winners will be showcased at the NZACA National Conference in Auckland in September. Entries into these awards close 25 July 2018.

Full details on the awards, each category, judging criteria and entry forms can be found in the information booklet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here